Considerate Cycling 29: It’s very rare but when it happens you know it could have been avoided

Late on Sunday afternoon (March 10th) a woman in her 80s was walking along Church Walk (sometimes known as Lime Walk or Birdcage Walk) in Clifton, Bristol. A man, apparently in his 30s, riding his bicycle along the footpath, collided with her.

She made her way home, but by mid-day on Monday 11th an ambulance had been called and she was later found to have three cracked ribs, a cracked pelvis and badly bruised arms. At the time of writing she is in Bristol General Infirmary.

Can I raise my own voice a little to reinforce my view that cycling on footpaths of any kind demands a great deal of thoughtful consideration for others and (in my view) should not be done as a routine.

I have been told that the man in question was very apologetic and said “I rang my bell”. It reminded me of an incident I reported in this blog:

https://samsaundersbristol.wordpress.com/2012/01/06/shared-space/

I hear from neighbours that Church Walk is often used by cyclists hurrying through and that it upsets them when it happens. I would urge everyone to treat footpaths as places where a great deal of care is needed. As a part of cyclists’ public campainging for better cycle facilities I think we should all be as cautious around pedestrians as we expect cars to be around bicycles. Personally I think that cycling along Church Walk (or any footpath like it that isn’t designated as a shared path) is reckless and unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

